Mi Corazón

I woke up this beautiful Sunday morning, fully intending to have a brief-er worship and then go straight into homework.  God had other plans.  What was supposed to be “quick” turned into just over an hour!  But it was exactly what I needed and I just wanted to share those ponderings with y’all.  If I am way off track or if you have any added insight, please feel free to share in the comments below.  I look forward to hearing from you!

Oh, and you might want to buckle up for this one, because it’s a long one!

For worships, I usually read the chapter encompassing the verse-of-the-day from BibleGateway.com and then pray about it.  Today’s was something that I think was supposed to sound patriotic or something, but I thought oh well, I’ll just read the chapter anyways.  Then I came across a verse that struck me as different:

“Each heart knows its own bitterness and no one else can share its joy.”                          – Proverbs 14:10 NIV

Now please correct me if I’m wrong or if I’m taking this a bit too “new age-y,” but here is what I think it means.  One can try to express their hurts, pains, deep feelings and raw emotions to a fellow human being, and he or she might greatly sympathize with them, but they will never truly (or fully) understand the first person’s true anguish.  The same thing goes for joy.  Yeah, two people might be excited about the same thing, but perhaps its for completely different reasons.  Or maybe the only slightly differing reasons.  Which, from a human perspective, is kind of depressing.  Just having the feeling of no one ever truly understanding you and so on.  On the other hand, for a follower of Christ, this is a beautiful thought, and I will explain why next.

There are many, many, many, MANY verses in the Bible that deal with hearts and whatnot. 1 Chronicles 28:9 says, “… for the Lord searches every heart and understands every motive behind the thoughts.”  And although Luke 16:15 is part of a grander story, it is mentioned again that, “… God knows [our] hearts.”  So although others may not fully understand us, God does.  Only God and I fully know and comprehend what is going on in my heart; and He is ever so much better at it than I am.  Its like a beautiful connection we personally and individually can have with Him.

Not only does the Bible assure us of God’s knowledge of our hearts and hence the deepest sorrows and angers or greatest joys, it also gives us some guidance into making our hearts more focused on Him.  I know my heart tends to wanter, but so did some other peoples’ in the Bible.  Like the wise Solomon said, there is nothing new under the sun (Ecclesiastes 1:9).  Paul says in Colossians 3:1 – “Since, then, you have been raised with Christ, set your hearts on things above, where Christ is seated at the right hand of God.”  Sidetone, in the next verse, Paul says to set your mind on things above.  Isn’t it interesting how he mentioned the heart before the mind?  I wonder which one is stronger…

David is accredited to writing Psalm 51 after the prophet Nathan confronted him about his adultery committed with Bathsheba.  In verse 10, David writes, “Create in me a pure heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me.”  I highly suggest reading Psalm 51 in its entirety sometime.  Every word seems to drip with David’s anguish and sorrow.  And yet God refers to this man as one after His own heart (Acts 13:22).  There’s that h-word again! I’m telling you, it’s everywhere!

And finally, a closing verse from the anonymous author of 1 John: “This then is how we know that we belong to the truth, and how we set our hearts at rest in His presence whenever our hearts condemn us. For God is greater than our hearts, and He knows everything” (3:19-20).  All of this and I can’t help but think about what an amazing God we have!  He created in us something so powerful and so controversial that people have been struggling with trying to control it for years.  But God’s got them, you, me… Only He knows our hearts.  He’s been there in some way, shape, or form.  And He loves us just the same.  Wow.

Leave a Reply

