Resolving Resolutions

Happy New Year! I hope you all had a wonderful (and safe!) celebration and made all of your new resolutions… πŸ™‚ A friend posted something on Facebook recently that I found to be quite true in my life, maybe you can relate as well: My goal for 2015 is to accomplish the goals of 2014 which I should have done in 2013 because I made a promise in 2012 and planned [it] in 2011. That being said, even if our resolutions stay with us for one, two, maybe even three months if lucky, there is something liberating and invigorating about having a clean slate. You just wake up one morning with the realization that you have a 365-page book (if this is leap year, please feel free to correct the number) to fill with adventures, stories, wisdom, mistakes, humor, love, etcetera, etcetera, etcetera. I hope that this new book is your best one yet!

I honestly cannot remember what 2014’s resolutions were but they were probably along the cliche lines of work out, play nicely with others, find purpose in life, yadda, yadda, yadda. Now don’t get me wrong, these are perfectly fine plans to have – they are even incorporated into this year’s set in some way, shape, or form – but seriously, how much did I stick to them? Or more importantly, how often did God end up taking me above and beyond my wildest (or not so wild… actually probably quite tame) imaginations? A year ago, I was still trying to figure out how I was supposed to recover from the previous rough (and by rough I mean, terrible, horrible, no-good, very bad) semester. I had no aim, goal, or purpose to life. But no worries, ladies and gents, my woeful tale does not stop here!

Story time! I have always wanted to take a year off of college to just travel. I was torn between wanting to be an SM or enrolling in the Adventist Colleges Abroad (ACA) program. (For those of you who aren’t familiar with ACA, it is a program set up by Adventist Colleges around the world where students in the system can take a year, semester, or even just a summer to study in a foreign country, learning the language, culture, and earning credits [how’s that for a run-on sentence!].) I finally made up my mind to enroll in ACA and go to Bogenhoffen which is a school in Austria. I planned to study for the year and backpack across Europe the following summer. In my mind, it was the perfectly mapped out plans I had been waiting for! However, God had other ideas. He piqued my curiosity about being an SM and while I was exploring their webpage, I “accidentally'” submitted an application. Fine, I thought, I’ll just delete it. But it WOULDN’T DELETE!!! I might’ve, sort of started slightly panicking, but then soon forgot about it amongst the flurry we call finals week. Dun dun duuuuuuuuuuunnn!

Fast forward a few weeks or so and I’m starting the new semester and I, being the good student that I am, thoroughly ignored my school emails over break. Although, once I got back into the groove of things I found that I had received an email from the student missions office. *gulp* It said that they received my application and that they would be happy to proceed with the process after they got some more information from me – i.e. signed papers, place choosings, t-shirt size, class registration, SSN, my first born child, my soul…!!!!! *double gulp* No, it wasn’t that bad, but my brain went full-on panic mode! This was signing a year of my life away; to just let God place me in whatever god-forsaken, heathen place He wanted! I emailed the SM office back and told them of my indecision to which they were greatly understanding and offered to let me at least go through the class and paperwork so that if I did end up going later on, the process would be that much quicker. Side note: please, go and get to know your local SM office, even if it’s purely for relational matters. They are really cool people and trust me, they’ve been around the world a time or two πŸ˜‰

To make a long story, and a longer blog (sorry, folks), short, God showed me that His plans for me are so much better than what I could even begin to plan for myself. Honestly, He knows our stories from the beginning to the end. We live one page at a time because as humans, that is all we can see. Sure, we might have plans and goals and whatnot, but who are we to really say what can or will happen. Last year I made plans to be a bit more sociable – maybe eat at a random table once a month or something (I know, big plans) – and yet here I am in AFRICA! Goodness, that could never get old… Africa AFrica AFRica AFRIca AFRICa AFRICA AAFFRRIICCAA!!!! Okay, I’ll stop, but you get the picture.

I wish you the best with all of your New Year’s resolutions both new and old. I pray you don’t fulfill them…. I pray you exceed them. I cannot say for sure what 2015 will hold, but personally, I’m pretty stoked about discovering what’s in store! Although it’s going to be hard beating last year with coming to…. I won’t say it…… I still won’t say it……. gaaaahhhH!! Africa! Sorry! I couldn’t help it! *I am ashamed of myself* That and bungee jumping 111 meters off a bridge connecting two countries over a river on the last day of 2014, but that’s another story for another time πŸ™‚ Peace

3 thoughts on “Resolving Resolutions

  1. Hey Michelle….I have really enjoyed reading your blogs…A perfect setting(sitting) for this Friday night
    I hadn’t read your Christmas Eve one until tonight.Both are Awesome!…You will NEVER FORGET…this year…going and serving in Africia….I’m sure it wasn’t in your wildest dreams last year
    at this time,it wouldn’t have been in mine(for me to go,probably if I were a student,but then one never knows) I am so happy that God led you to Africia and that you are having a great experience. I’m sure it was great having your Folks and Andrew come for a visit…I want to see your Folks and hear all
    about the time there….
    Things are going pretty well for me,but it was a tough Christmas without my Dear Hubby….Cad LOVED Christmas soooo much! and when I started putting up decorations,putting on the music,the tears would come..( by rule,I’m not one to cry easily) but God helped me get through it and I wanted to have The Holidays for my grandkids especially!

    Well Michelle..it’s getting abit late..I think of you often and will pray even more for you,as you are in
    the( “last round up”) I don’t know if that’s how you say it..but you know what I mean…Wow! I can’t fully imagine what the slower pace of life is like there and the Country side,because when Cad and I and our kids lived in South East Asia,Singapore….it was City living,massive people and traffic..of course on the compound where the Academy and Division Head Quarters were,it was a quieter atmosphere,then as one stepped off the grounds to take a bus or car,Wholah!

    I love you and am Soooo proud of you….Happy Sabbath…Ms.Cad..

    Like

    1. Greetings, Ms. Cad!
      Thank you so much for your comment πŸ™‚ I appreciate the feedback and I’m glad you’re enjoying it! I immensely enjoyed having my family out here and yes, you should go visit them sometime – I am sure they would love to see you!
      I regret that the holidays were hard for you, and understandably so; however I am glad that you were able to enjoy it somewhat through your grandchildren.
      Haha yes, that was a new one for me, but I get it. To be honest, it’s a bit more difficult now that my family left, but God is working through things and being a stronghold for me. 15 weeks and 6 days until I get to head home πŸ™‚ Riverside has honestly been one of the best things that has ever happened to me and I am so grateful to be here! I cannot imagine what it must’ve been like living in Singapore. When we go into Lusaka (the capital), it is such a madhouse! Yeah it is fun to hang out at the mall and sure, the food is delicious, but everyone abhors going into town! It is so peaceful here at RFI, and even at Turnpike (the little village 3km) seems peaceful in comparison to some other places. I shall have to hear more of your tales from SE Asia sometime!
      You’re in my thoughts and prayers!
      Love and miss ya!

      Like

  2. wait, so you only got into the SM program by complete accident? wow, I never knew that! heh. note to self: be careful when prowling around the SM website, you might just end up inadvertently sending in an application.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

