Never a Dull Moment

Can you believe that we have been here for a full three weeks already?! There is so much that keeps happening that the days drag on, yet time already seems to have taken flight. I got sick for the first time and as far as I’m concerned, it can most definitely be the last. XP Sooooo not fun. Nsima and rape (yes, you read that correctly – it is a type of green sort of like spinach) are difficult enough to enjoy the first time going down and the Lord knows (and now I do too) that it’s much less pleasant coming back up. I do sincerely apologize to anyone who couldn’t stomach that last line – pun intended. πŸ˜‰ But praise the Lord that after only missing two days of activities, I was back among the living. Today, I continue to enjoy a life of complete recovery – the only thing being that I am still leery of a few foods. o.O

Kris and Jeff both recently had birthdays so the girls and I planned a surprise double birthday party. We even “ordered” a cake (well, asked someone and they definitely pulled through with a delicious carob coconut cream cake P: )! We were quite proud of our accomplishments and deemed it African Pinterest worthy πŸ™‚ Speaking of such, Sara, Tanya and I have been testing out our creative juices when it comes to cooking. A version of bruschetta (with toasted bread) and nsima chips (Sara’s invention/creation) have been the best working recipes as to date. The most important lesson for me through it all was to learn that the oven is set on degrees Celsius (instead of Fahrenheit, like I’m used to). Let’s just say that the first batch of toasted bread was “crispified” at 230 C (446F!!!). Oops.

The girls and I had the opportunity to attend our first African wedding last week! Aside from the fact that the wedding started almost 3 hours late, the whole experience was amazing! So many cultural similarities and differences between the wedding here and what we’re used to back in the States. We did not stay for the reception, choosing instead to come home, make a delicious mushroom and rice lunch and watch The Help (an excellent movie choice, especially those interested in American social reform)! We are going to a wedding later this month and will experience a reception there. Apparently this means looking forward to food, dancing, and practically an all-day party.

As briefly mentioned earlier, nsima is getting a bit harder to eat day in and day out. We look forward to Thursdays (rice day!!!!!!!) and days when they have some sort of tofu relish. *sidenote* relish here is not like pickle relish, it is whatever side dish is being served with nsima since you do NOT want to eat it plain (or cold *shudder*). However, Saturday was full of good food: breakfast was served at Coenie and Ester’s (South Africans established here for several years, he’s in charge of maintenance around here and she helps with the students… both direct the Pathfinder club) and we enjoyed fruit salad – more than just bananas!!, an oatmeal bake, bread with a basil spread, guacamole, tomatoes, dates, nuts, and a few other things. There was also a potluck after church full of goodies: pasta, potatoes, carrot salad (haven’t had carrots in a while!!), popcorn, sugar-free molasses cookies (actually not bad), popcorn (the closest thing to nsima anyone brought, but it was acceptable), rice, beans, and more. I guess we were spoiled and it was a bit hard going back to regular nsima the next week. Haha Although, we were greatly – and thankfully – surprised to receive green beans these past few days instead of rape. Hallelujah! I’m not sure all of the students and faculty were thrilled since there was actually some leftovers (rarely does this happen), but hey, we definitely enjoyed the change and variety!

With the Bible School – elementary school – in session as of last Sunday, it seems like little kids have appeared out of nowhere! Of course by now, they all know my name; unfortunately for them, I know nary a soul. I hope to learn more of there names in time, but there’s just so many! Some SM’s before us established a tradition where the younger kids come to our house’ on Monday night for songs and games. We are pleased to announce that there was a great turn-out to our first “meeting.” πŸ™‚ The little boys absolutely adore “uncle” Kris, “uncle” Jeff, and “uncle” Mo and the girls are warming up to us. Two little girls – Victoria and Patience – have been our little shadows recently and needless to say, we haven’t minded one iota. πŸ˜€ I did make the mistake of praying and asking God to help me better my connection to the younger children (anyone who knows me realizes that this is so not my strong point). Within the next 48 hours, I received a little shadow by the name of Shadrach (his picture is on Facebook). This 10 year old likes to sit with me while I work, use my camera (under my watchful supervision), ride our bike, and recently, try to learn guitar. With him have come others. Usually two other boys accompany him, but yesterday the number increased to eight!!! Holy moly! I shall be very careful in what I ask God for help with from now on! XD

Well, I guess that is enough of an epistle for now! I appreciate you stopping by for a quick look into my current life. I would love to hear about you and what’s been happening in yours πŸ™‚ Have a lovely day and God Bless!

One thought on “Never a Dull Moment

  1. I’m enjoying your blog, Michelle (as well as pictures on Facebook), and look forward to more posts in the future. Thanks for sharing!
    – Kim Musselman

    Like

Leave a Reply

