One Week Already!!

Hello America!

Yesterday marked the first week we have spent at Riverside and boy, it seems like a lot has happened in only a week! First off, I’m not as excited about the bananas anymore – trust me, they’re still delicious! There are just so many XP Luckily today some of us are going to Turnpike to get some apples, oranges and check out what else they have.

The people are warming up to us more and more and I feel we are doing likewise. The Bible School (elementary school) starts up on Sunday so we shall be getting more students on campus – yay, more names to fail to remember. Haha It’s fascinating how your mind chooses to remember only certain names while others just don’t seem to stand a chance. Oh well, it has only been a week after all.

I am slowly learning a bit more Tongan (I only recently learned that the correct way to say it is Citonga, but apparently no one uses that name??) I am just afraid to use it and totally mess up the meaning. Range, the guy practically in charge of the banana plantations, wrote down a list of words and phrases for me to learn. Let’s just say that out of the whole page I have learned about four. Oops. I will ask him for more once I learn more of these words. Good thing Range seems like a very patient man. πŸ™‚

There have been a few challenges here as well: Sunday morning was rather difficult. I don’t exactly have a work schedule (yet) as long as I get a newsletter done, and learning how to self-manage myself at work is something that I guess I will continue to work on. πŸ™‚ Also, I’ve had some issues with my iPad acting up and the charging chord kicking the bucket. I’m still having issues trying to email out some stuff that really needs to be sent out, but other than that, God has provided for each issue that arises. I’m learning to be patient and to just, like the proverbial saying, “let go and let God.” Even when the water won’t run for a while and I go a day without showering (no, it’s not the worst thing that could’ve happened, but it certainly wasn’t pleasant).

Oh! Exciting tidbit: I killed my first scorpion the other evening! Thank goodness it was only a little guy, but I heard those are more poisonous than the large ones (not deadly, just very uncomfortable). It’s amazing, Carla (Wellness Center Manager, from the U.S. and a lot of fun to talk to) has been at Riverside for around two years and she has yet to see all that we have seen in the first week. She claims that God has been shielding her because she wasn’t sure what she would do if she was privy to the things that scurry in Zambia. I told her that I wished God was shielding us a bit more then πŸ˜‰ On the bright side, we are able to partake in her strawberry patch P:

I have enjoyed getting to know the other student missionaries better as well. I annoy Tanya with my many alarms but we have a system down now (she even got me up just before 4 o’clock this morning to accompany her to get Internet :P). Well, our system is my alarm goes off, Tanya yells at me to get it, I turn it off, debate going to breakfast or back to bed, decide to crawl back into bed and we both sleep until around 7 when she gets up to shower and 7:30 when I end up flopping out of bed. Sara is the other SM girl that has been here since April and will be leaving October 14. She works in the clinic with Tanya, but I accompany her during lunch break as she makes her rounds to various people’s houses. She is really sweet and a wealth of information for us incoming SM’s. πŸ™‚ She also makes a great editor for the newsletter! Although we don’t work or live even on the same side of campus, we have gotten together with the guys on various occasions to play games (usually Rook, but last night we played Uno and Phase 10). They are currently doing maintenance on campus until Alan Knowles returns from his furlough and then they will accompany him to go out and build one-day churches and schools. So I guess we shall enjoy their company while they are still around. πŸ™‚

I guess this is long enough for now. I would like to please request continued prayers with the newsletter and that everything will come together smoothly. Thank you! If I can return the favor, either comment below or message me your prayer request. πŸ™‚

Love you all and have a good night!

2 thoughts on “One Week Already!!

  1. Hi Michelle…….I loved reading your blog…You are such a brave,courageous woman,I am sooo proud of you.I’m very happy to hear that the other SM,Sara has already been there a few months before you arrived,and has done some “paving of the way”,as they say…..The people will love you when they start allowing themselves to get to know you.I believe it’s that way in every culture.
    How is the weather there,hot or cooler? is there much humidity? It still stays pretty humid here,but we’ve had quite abit of rain…
    You mentioned you were going off campus to look/buy apples etc.did you have good luck? I would imagine that the fruit would be pretty expensive….It’s all very new and fascinating,I would think…..and like you mentioned,one has to have the patience for the different ways of handeling situations….You are “up for the task Michelle” with God’s help…
    It’s late and I’d better bring this to a close for tonight….you were brave with the scorpion,Michelle! good luck with that…
    Much love and God’s blessings….Barbara Cad

    Like

    1. Greetings, Mrs. Cadavero!
      Aw, thank you so much for your lovely comment! It’s so nice to hear from you!
      Oh, I am praising God every day that Sara is here to show us the ropes a bit πŸ™‚ It helps to have an inside connection! Luckily I have been able to make some friends and more acquaintances here – mostly with the adults… needing to work more on the kids and people my own age.. haha But everyone is really nice and friendly πŸ˜€
      The weather was hot for the first couple of days after we arrived (which I guess it was unseasonably so), then it cooled off (50s at night and maybe warming up to the 70s during the day for a few hours). It may sound nice, but I found it to be rather chilling. Brrr! lol Recently, well as of yesterday, it has started warming up again as we are reaching the end-ish of winter. Everyone keeps telling me that it’ll get suuuuuuuper hot and keep building and building until it rains and the process begins again. So I guess I have something to look forward to?? *nervous laugh*
      And luckily there is very little to no humidity, even when it rains. I look forward to that, but my skin tells me otherwise πŸ˜‰
      We were successful! I only managed to get 10 apples for 20 kwacha (just over $3), but the guys got oranges, eggs, apples, and some other stuff. I hope to go again soon and get some oranges and more apples as well (currently, anything is better than bananas. lol). I guess the only reason it seems expensive (now I haven’t been shopping in town yet, so the prices I have yet to know) is because it’s quite a bit of their money. For us, one of our dollar bills equals about 6 kwacha which is sorta their equivalent to a dollar bill. Of course, the hard part was they kept insisting that we are rich because we are white and that “all white people are wealthy!” But you just need to look past it as their way of getting you to purchase their items versus someone’s right beside you.
      Haha well, luckily that was the only scorpion I’ve seen… I’m just hoping he doesn’t have any relatives around. lol I did take pity on one of those huge spiders trapped in the sink by releasing it onto the wall. I also named it “Ferb.” But no worries, he’s the good kind who eats mosquitoes and such. I don’t mind him as long as he stays out of our way. πŸ˜›
      I hope you have a wonderful day and don’t be surprised if I use some of my response in my next blog post… you asked some good questions πŸ™‚ Thanks!
      God Bless!
      Love ya!
      ~ Michelle

      Like

Leave a Reply

